Wednesday, November 30, 2016

2017 Most Anticipated - HarperCollins Canada


Today I have the lovely Suman and Kaiti from HarperCollins Canada stopping by the blog sharing their own most anticipated list. These are all titles that should be on your radar next year. Each of them sound pretty amazing and there is a wide variety of choices so I am pretty sure something will catch your eye.

A huge thank you to them both for taking the time to write up this post! You both are the greatest!


Suman and Kaiti’s Most Anticipated Books of 2017

We publish a lot of books every year so it’s always a bit difficult to select just a few that we’re excited for, but, hey, we tried!

SS = Suman (it rhymes with Susan) Seewat
KV = Kaitlyn Vincent


We Were On a Break by Lindsey Kelk – January 3, 2017

Lindsey Kelk’s new standalone novel pays homage to one of my favourite TV shows. It is also classic Kelk – funny, relatable, infuriating and heartwarming. Adam and Liv are like two of your best friends who refuse to listen to anything you say, no matter how hard you try to shake some sense into them.

And, for the record, they may have been on a break but Ross was still in the wrong. –KV


Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth – January 17, 2017

Veronica Roth. Space. Divergent. Star Wars. There are so many things I could say about Carve the Mark but all I can really put down on paper is:  !!!!!!!!
 –KV

A note from Suman: I GOT TO READ THIS BOOK A FEW MONTHS AGO AND GUESS WHAT??? IT’S VERY GOOD.


The Lonely Hearts Hotel by Heather O’Neill – February 7, 2017

Kathy is very familiar with how much I love Heather O’Neill’s work, but for those of you who aren’t, I LOVE HER BOOKS. A LOT. I’m not alone – her debut novel, Lullabies for Little Criminals, won Canada Reads in 2007. Her following works were consecutively shortlisted for the Scotiabank Giller prize: The Girl Who Was Saturday Night in 2014 and Daydreams of Angels in 2015. In The Lonely Hearts Hotel, Heather is at her darkest and most magical, sharing a spellbinding story of two orphans whose unusual magnetism and talent leads them towards a future they only dreamed about. –KV


The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas – February 28, 2017

Inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, The Hate U Give is easily my most-anticipated YA read this year. It follows sixteen-year-old Starr Carter after she witnesses the fatal shooting of her best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. I read this book in one sitting on my phone on a Saturday night. I couldn’t stop reading it. It’s an important story written by an immensely talented writer that I hope everyone reads. –SS


A Simple Favour by Darcey Bell – March 21, 2017

For fans of Gone Girl, A Simple Favour is a chilling debut thriller that focuses on three characters: a popular blogger, her best friend who disappears suddenly, and the latter’s husband. It’s full of twists, betrayals and “Whaaaaaaaat just happened?!?!” moments. This is a great vacation or weekend read! –SS


Miss You by Kate Eberon – April 4, 2017

Miss You by Kate Eberlen is a cure for any reader who hasn’t fallen in love with a book since the first time they read One Day (and let’s be honest, there are some of us who have read it over and over and over). In Miss You, Gus and Tess meet briefly as teenagers, and readers watch their lives continue across decades and continents before they find each other again.  –KV


The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli – April 11, 2017

Simon Vs. The Homo-Sapiens Agenda is 200% one of my favourite YA books ever. Like, ever, ever. I didn’t think it’d be possible to love a character as much Simon, but Becky Albertalli is actual magic and has created another unforgettable protagonist in Molly. Read The Upside of Unrequited. It’s funny and heart-warming and feels so real. You will love every second of it. –SS


Fireworks by Katie Cotugno – April 11, 2017

New from the author of How To Love and 99 Days!!!! Fireworks is all about boy bands, girl bands, best friends and first love. If you’re a fan of Stephanie Perkins, Sarah Dessen, and Morgan Matson you should to read this book. If you’re a fan of the Backstreet Boys, Spice Girls and/or NSYNC you should to read this book. Basically, everyone should read this book. –SS


Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy – May 9, 2017

Oh, hey, it’s a new book by Julie Murphy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! –SS


Party Girls Die in Pearls by Plum Sykes – May 9, 2017

This super-charming, super-fun mystery is set at Oxford in the 80’s and follows two students, Ursula Flowerbutton and Nancy Feingold, as they try to solve the murder of one of their super-wealthy, super-popular classmates. I REALLY LIKED THIS BOOK. It’s a blend of Sophie Kinsella’s books and Pretty Little Liars, with a dash of Veronica Mars. –SS


Dividing Eden by Joelle Charbonneau – June 6, 2017

Are you a fan of Red Queen?? And Game of Thrones?? Did you read Three Dark Crowns and think, Oh. Thats dark and also cool and also I love this book?? Well, let me introduce you to Dividing Eden, a new fantasy about two royal siblings who are forced to compete for the crown. ALSO. Lets all just take a moment to flail over that cover.


Hunger by Roxane Gay – June 13, 2017

Journalist, professor and New York Times bestselling author Roxane Gay is back with Hunger: A Memoir of (My) Body. I started following Roxane’s writing after reading Bad Feminist, her accessible introduction to intersectional feminism. Though I haven’t had a chance to read Hunger in its entirety, I’ve read a few excerpts and can’t wait to read more of this honest memoir about self-image and self-care. –KV


Standard Deviation by Katherine Heiny – July 18th, 2017

The women in Katherine Heiny’s debut short story collection Single, Carefree, Mellow were neither single, nor carefree, nor mellow.  They were, however, funny, flawed, and felt so familiar. Reading that collection, I was so impressed with Katherine Heiny’s ability to write honest characters in relatable circumstances. Her debut novel, Standard Deviation, is no exception. I cannot recommend this book enough. –KV


What books are you all excited to read in 2017??? Let us know! You can find Suman on Twitter at @suman_says and @HCCFrenzy, and Kaitlyn at @ktvncnt and @HarperCollinsCa

1 comment:

  1. Thank you for introducing all these new reads! Party Girls Die in Pearls sounds really good :D

    ReplyDelete

I love comments. Thank you for stopping by my blog and thank you even more for leaving me a comment.

I have decided to make this an awards free blog. I appreciate the gesture, and love that you thought of my blog, however I simply can't pass them along as required.

You Might Also Like

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...